New Diagnosis


It’s official.  I’ve been diagnosed with ADULT ADHD.  It actually makes sense now.  Read the symptoms.  I wouldn’t be surprised if my mother had ADHD also.  I am surprised I was not tested as a child what with my disease and all my other problems.  How did they miss that?  It explains why I have a hard time on so many simple things or things that are simple to most..why I interrupt people..maybe even why I think so much differently then others..not to mention why I’ve had problems at  jobs.

  Now, I have a problem with my Psychiatrist.  I don’t want to see him anymore.  I don’t think I will.  I need to talk to my husband and my Primary about it.  First of all he is constantly pushing me to stop my Caffeine.  That is NOT going to happen.  You can tell me til your blue in the face about whatever research you read that Caffeine causes headaches and does not help Migraines.  I’ve read other and I live with Migraines and I know what helps me and you’re not the one in bed with the pounding headaches and you’re not the one that would be going through withdrawals (should you survive them) not just with a pounding headache but vomiting or worse yet, winding up in the hospital because you seriously cannot function.  It’s happened before and those headaches weren’t even explained.  I had every test in the world and was drugged up for a week straight before coming out of it.  So, just Shut Up Doc, Right Now!  Now, I have ADHD he is pushing Adderral.  But first, he wants me to take another TOVA TEST which is Not covered by my insurance.  Nor, was the 1st one.  I took the 1st one after taking 3-4 other written tests from two different doctors with varied results and wanting a definitive confirmation.  I knew the 1st ToVA test was not covered by insurance but thought the two TOVA tests were together.  No such luck.  You take the 1st TOVA test then they give you Adderal then they have you take a 2nd TOVA test to see how much Adderal will make a difference and every 6 months or so you continue.  When I spoke to him about the insurance issue, my doctor copped a very bad attitude.  He doesn’t like to talk about money.  Mental health is important, blah, blah, blah.  He will accept a payment plan.  He actually said..”If you don’t want to pay, “I just won’t help you anymore.”  WTH?  I almost walked out then.   My mind has actually started to calm down quite a bit while on the Zoloft and I do not even want another drug right now and while reading about ADHD I’ve read there are other ways to deal with this.  I know this doctors field is ADD/ADHD but I think he also majored in Pushiness.

While at  the Therapist  (not the Psychiatrist) I brought up Operation Christmas Child as I was telling her I feel sort of bad this year as only having been able to make 7 boxes whereas last year I was able to make 24 but with finances the way they are and being on disability and all my medical problems this year, etc.. Anyway, she mentioned that she no longer counsels children under 13 and she had some toys in the back room and would I like them? Some were a bit large though. Of course I said Yes! The large ones can go to Spark of Love or Toy’s For Tots. Little did I know what a blessing this was going to be.

SOME TOYS turned out to be 6 enormous bins full of toys. Plastic-Dishes and Food, Doll-House Families and Furniture, Musical Instruments, a whole bin of Stuffed Animals, toys for 2 Year olds, Erasers and Globe Key Chains for 10-14 Year olds, and the large toys?.. A big Rag Doll. I want to fold her up and fit her in a regular shoebox to send off. If I could, I would. A Drum and a Gigantic Pony! Some child will love this! God is so good!

I have been working lately on making a ‘Frog Box’. Everything in the box is Frog themed or the colors of the main stuffed Frog. I don’t know why. God told me this box is going to a child who loves Frogs. The last two shopping trips I have found absolutely nothing Frog themed. In these bins there was a Frog Puppet and a Frog Maraca. I have never seen a Frog Maraca. It is adorable.

5 Comments

  1. Good luck to you on all your health issues! I know what you mean about the Dr. majoring in Pushiness! That was the way Spooky’s Vet was! Huhn! Is it for the money? Makes you wonder in this down economy? You sound like you are doing soo much better, follow your heart on some of your own meds. I sometimes think the Drs. love to over-medicate . . .You are wonderful the way you are doing the Operation Christmas Child when you sound like you have a lot on your plate! I applaud you! Take care!

  2. Thank You. I love Operation Christmas Child and a lot of it has to do with praying for the children who will be receiving the boxes. Prayer I can do from home despite all my ailments. The box buying and packing is just a bonus. I call it a bonus because it is something I really enjoy doing.

  3. I was suffering from wretched complicated migraines, meaning aura and stroke like symptoms. I was recently diagnosed as extremely b12 deficient, despite the fact that I eat fortified foods, and with hypothyroidism. After weekly b12 injections and low dose thyroid hormones, The headaches have completely stopped. I also take magnesium supplements, since research shows that many migraineurs have magnesium uptake issues. Migraines I’ve had since childhood are completely gone. Have you had your b12 levels tested lately? Good luck and healing to you.

  4. Did you know that:
    NO “test” has ever been validated in the determination of ADD/ADHD.

    “The reason why you have been unable to obtain any articles or studies presenting clear and confirming evidence of a physical or chemical abnormality associated with ADHD is that there is none”.
    Lawrence Diller, M.D. of the University of California, San Francisco.

    I saw this on the website http://www.adhdtesting.org which is operated by Ablechild.org who state that “since there is no medical proof of any ADD/ADHD disorder that you do not use their site for medical purposes. The only reason I am saying this is because I have read that statement on numerous websites dedicated to ADHD and I believe it makes sense because ADD has different effects on everyone, not because I doubt the existence of the disorder itself. (that statement from ablechild kinda pisses me off, to be honest)
    Anyway, I think your doctor needs to be reminded that he is supposed to be participating in what is in your best interests and he needs to take into consideration your financials before he requests you spend more money on something he can measure without the TOVA test computer program…he can actually see your progress himself, by taking notes and measuring your progress and medication side effects all by himself, like a big boy:)
    Seriously, though, this is a good time to actively advocate for yourself with him. Good practice to have under your belt before you attempt advocating for yourself in the work world.

    • I have already stopped seeing that doctor.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

