Debate Over Halloween Decorations


I almost had a debate with my Pastor at church on Sunday but it didn’t really turn into a debate because pastor’s at churches think they are alway’s right and they use Scripture Verses to back up their viewpoint of whatever it is they want you to believe plus, when they stop trying to convince you of their thinking (because it wasn’t working) the rest of the church participants sneak something in during the nights topic of “What’s Your favorite Verse and Why?”

  The topic in question is Halloween and should you participate?  I decorate my house for Halloween with Ghoul’s and a Graveyard.  I was telling Pastor and the others that my neighbor believes that decorating my yard like that is just opening the door to Satan which I think is going overboard.  I did not expect my church members to agree with her.  Pastor went on and on about as Christians we are supposed to glorify God every day 24/7.  He tried to compare the symbol of the Cross to a decoration of a Ghoul as if I am seriously symbolizing it.  When I mentioned it as being only in fun..Pastor compared it to people doing drugs or committing suicide or weird stuff like that being fun and going along with it. 

 This is the new church I am attending and they are a bit more extreme than the one I last attended.  Good thing I did not tell them I dress up as a Ghoul and scare the children. 

 I am strong in my Faith and I know God is with me. . .  It is what you believe on the inside and in your heart and how you show your love to others that matters.  One night/wknd of the year scaring people in a costume is not going to change things overall.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

