Small Ways To Make Big Differences


Yesterday was busy but such an awesome day!

  I saw the Therapist at 11:00 then spent the day at church from 1:40 until 9 p.m. at our Operation Christmas Child Shoebox Packing Event!  It was a lot of work setting up and organizing Shoe Boxes.  The church makes 240 Shoe Boxes every year and the lady in charge makes lists of what  goes into the boxes so every child gets a certain thing which means everything has to be organized and counted.  Of course, the extra things people think of to donate are amazing.  Everything left over is saved for the next year when it is all done again.  What’s  shame is that I was told only about a half-dozen people actually bring things to donate for the boxes so most everything falls on her shoulders.  That’s not quite fair.

  Anyway, in the morning, I had said a prayer for God to lead me to someone who needed food that day, as I have been driving around with a bag of canned and boxed food in my car for someone in need.  I was getting afraid the dates would expire and it is getting cold and so many people are hungry.  As I was leaving church, I saw a Gentlemen with a cart of things.  At first I thought he was going through the Dumpster before I noticed he was picking up plastic bottles from the ground.  I asked, “Sir, Are you hungry?” and he said, “Yes Maam” so I gave him the food from the car and he said, “God Bless You.”  I told him to “Have A Good Night” and he said he would try.  It felt so good to know that I not only helped all those children but I also helped someone in my local area who really needs it.

  In actuality, I did not help them alone.  God does the main work and I am his tool. 

I was talking to a friend of mine today who said the boys in her church (the one I used to attend) are going to start putting Shoebox Kits together to give to the homeless when they see them containing socks, food, etc.. and pass them out.  I think that’s a wonderful idea and much better then giving money.  I think I may do the same thing.  I could just make a small one up and keep it in my car until I see someone, then do it over and over again.

What a small way to make a large difference.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

