Questioning Others Beliefs


MERRY CHRISTMAS!  I am sick.  I am freezing and sweating at the same time not to mention coughing and congested, headachy, etc.  I wanted to try a new church too but one of them has a web service tomorrow so I may just tune in to that.

I say Merry Christmas because I am a Christian and despite being “Politically Correct”, I believe Christ is the reason for the holiday.  Christ-Mas!

  The Arrowhead Guy came the other day and wished me Happy Holidays and when I said Merry Christmas! and explained I am a Christian so I say Merry Christmas, he told me he was too.  That made me feel really good.  I know when you work they make you say, Happy Holidays. 

Another blogger I follow was  talking about people who aren’t Christian but celebrate Christmas and how she believes it is wrong and it did make me question a friend of mine the other day.  I went to his house for our gift exchange and he had taken his Cross down from the wall and put up a Wreath.  When I asked why, he said because he isn’t really religious.  Then he explained that he believes “in a God but not the whole Mary, Jesus thing.  At least I’m not Atheist.”  I almost asked him if he does not believe in the whole Jesus thing, why are we exchanging gifts celebrating someone he does not believe in?  Perhaps we should not do it anymore.  It really was not the right time to ask that question as it might have ruined the mood but I do think I will bring it up sometime as now it bothers me.

Anyway, I hope you all have a Very, Merrry Christmas!!  I’m going back to bed to try to stay warm.

5 Comments

  1. I do not think gift giving is part of the whole celebrating Jesus tradition originally.

    “Gift giving was common in the Roman celebration of Saturnalia, an ancient festival which took place in late December and may have influenced Christmas customs. Christmas gift giving was banned by the Catholic Church in the Middle Ages due to its suspected pagan origins.It was later rationalized by the Church on the basis that it associated St. Nicholas with Christmas, and that gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh were given to the infant Jesus by the Biblical Magi.”

    So I wouldn’t really let it bother you. It is now more of a thing we do to show are appreciation to friends and family.

  2. “The Biblical Magi” Being a Christian, I believe in the Bible and the birth of Jesus which includes the Wise Men. We appreciate each other on our birthdays., do we not? It is not so much the gift giving aspect that is bothering me though as it is the fact that my friend took the Cross down and made the comment that he wasn’t really “Religious” at this time of year.

    • Oh well I see. I understand that. I misunderstood what you were bothered by.

  3. I’m relieved to hear that a Christian is bothered by non-believers celebrating Christmas! I thought I was the only one:)
    I was raised Catholic however have abandoned the whole organized religion scene in my teens. I do not have faith and always questioned everything as a child being schooled in the ways of Jesus, God and Virgin Mary…heavily frowned at by the priests and nuns not to mention the hits upside the head did not deter me from asking for answers:)
    Anyway, I always felt strongly that it is wrong to pick and choose parts of a religion to suit your lifestyle and Christmas has always been my strongest beef with people, particularly those that only see the inside of a church at Midnight Mass, their wedding or a christening. What about the rest of the year people? What about all those sins you commit when there is no special occasion? Confession is NOT a free pass to do as you please, confess when feeling guilty, then continue on your less than wonderful way!
    Christmas is a deeply religious holiday to celebrate the birth of Jesus, Son of God, who died to save the souls of all. It is an official holiday throughout most of the world (which is another beef of mine…) and people “celebrate” by indulging their materialistic desires, putting themselves in debt and creating financial chaos for the new year. Most don’t give the meaning of the holiday a single thought.
    It has always bothered me, bugged me and nagged my mind since I can remember. Most people I’ve mentioned it to just “pooh-pooh” me away, saying I’m just too intense, too sensitive and too much of a pain in the butt:) My witty response is usually “Whatever.” LOL
    I once received a gift from a Jehovah lady I worked with that others thought I would take offence to. She gave me a bible and the great significance of her gesture was not lost on me, although others thought her pushy. Jehovah’s do not exchange gifts nor do they participate in the freak show traditionally called Christmas celebrations. Her gift to me was out of a deep conviction in her religion, a deep concern for me and a deep desire to “help save my soul”. Although the gift itself was of no use to me the giver, her lovely spirit and her gesture was the most memorable gift I ever received:)

    Our current Christmas excesses are reminiscent of ancient Pagan times when celebrations were about the Winter Solstice etc.
    Peace out.

  4. I also was raised Catholic and left for various reasons much to my parents disappointment. Then I became Baptist and now I am starting to feel lost as far as an actual Religion is concerned. But that is a whole nother story at the moment.
    As for Christmas and the issue at hand, I think the problem is not so much the gift giving itself as the reason we are celebrating and giving gifts to each other. If you don’t believe in Jesus and you don’t believe in Santa..why are you celebrating Christmas? If you believe in Santa..what is the real back story of him? What are you celebrating? and why are you giving me a gift or putting a wreath up at all? I think maybe those are the questions to ask and asking those questions would not get us into an argument or ruin our friendship. We have been friends for over 30+ years so I have to be very careful on this one.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

