ADD & Husband


Every night before I go to bed I go through this ritual of wiping down the counter and the knobs on the stove (Thank God) and last night I discovered that one knob on the stove was not turned completely to the Off position.  It was barely there.  There was no flame, and no smell.  Nor was there any heat.  But, it wasn’t in the Off position which completely freaked me out.  I had last used it at 6 and that had been about 7 hours prior.  I was going to wake up S. but it was actually about 1-1:30 in the morning so I thought for a minute after putting my nose right next to the burner making sure I didn’t smell gas, and opened a window in the kitchen then decided to look up Yahoo Answers on my Cell Phone in the living room just to make sure there was no cause for concern.  All was fine but I wound up staying in the living room for about 15-20 minutes or more just to be safe .

Also, I have to make Lists for everything I do and and everywhere I go or I will most likely forget in a second.  It is actually sort of fun to see just how much I complete in a day on my list.  Anyway, my husband gets annoyed at times with my sense of direction and the fact that he has to clarify where a place is even though I’ve been there time and time again.  He hates it if I point out I have ADD.  He thinks I use it as an excuse.  One pet peeve of mine about him is his noisy gas which he is totally proud of and does all the time.  I seriously don’t remember him doing it as often before hei got married… Anyway, he was telling me how annoyed he was with me about having to remind me about directions somewhere when I’ve been there over and over again and right after he finished..he gassed.  So, I said, “Well, I get annoyed with that.”  He had to laugh and say, “I guess it’s and give and take isn’t it.”   I had to say, “Yeah, but in your case anyway..it’s more give and I’d rather not take.” lol.

Most of our arguments or at least those types will never have an ending and he knows it.

Hey, we’ve been married almost 11 years.  You would think he would be used to it by now.

1 Comment

  1. Hello kindred spirit!

    My husband gets annoyed at the exact same thing. 🙂

    And I hate it when people think I’m using ADD as an excuse. Jerks.

    🙂 That being said, I love my husband! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

