Recovery, Protein Bar, or ?


My stomach felt really good today until I ate a Tiger’s Milk Protein Bar which is supposed to be safe.  I called the company and they said there is a chance a batch of the Protein Rich (which is one flavor I’m allowed) can get mixed up with one of the other flavors that are not Gluten-Free but usually the utensils are washed thoroughly in between.  I started getting loose stool after eating one yesterday too so I am going to avoid those for a few days and see what happens.  Maybe I haven’t completely healed from the food poisoning episode from last week.  I sure want this Gluten-Free diet to be the solution to my stomach issues.  Although, I’m sure it takes time since it’s been years with no answers and my body really needs to adjust.

I have to admit it was sort of bummer driving by Red Lobster and knowing I could not go there.  Oh, the temptation!  I can only have Shrimp pretty much and while I like Shrimp Scampi, the smell of those Cheddar Bay Biscuits not to mention seeing them on every table in the restaurant would probably drive me crazy.  As soon as I get my gluten-free, all purpose, flour I may just try to make my own biscuits again.

It’s gunny but I bought myself Gluten Free Hot Dogs and potatoes and lots of vegetables but I’m afraid to eat the vegetables because I remember how some or to many vegetables can tear up my stomach, (although I may as well give them a shot) but I’ve been pretty much living on the hot dogs and potato’s lately and I am totally waiting on all the other gluten-free stuff I just spent hundreds of bucks on like the Gnocchi and egg-rolls and more bars and chips or snack foods and pasta’s and rice dishes, etc.  I guess I a need more variety to add to my current variety.

4 Comments

  1. It’s a real bummer to discover you’re gluten intolerant, right? I recently realized myself how trace of dirty footprints connects my tummy problems directly to gluten. Moreover, I can’t tolerate rice either, so no gluten free substitute flours for me either!

    As for variety, try to start discovering real foods that have no list of ingredients. All the meats, fishes, dairy, fruit, vegs, nuts, beans should be safe for you and they offer incredible variety. I hope you will feel better soon!

  2. Thank-You. I am lactose intolerant as well. Sounds like you may have it a bit worse though.

  3. My boyfriend is going through something similar. He’s just had a round of allergy tests with the dr, to see what’s bothering him!

    • I wish him best of luck and I hope they actually find something in his case.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

