Post On Spam


Today I want to talk about Spam.  Spam is a lunch meat.  I used to like it before I became Vegetarian/Flexitarain and gave in to my love of animals.  Plus, I need to be on a low-protein diet anyway due to my disease..but I digress.. I used to take Spam Sandwiches for lunch which was basically canned Spam mixed with mayo in a sandwich.    My father was a retired Marine having served a long time in the Marine Corps. (being on the USS Tennessee which was attached to the USS Arizona during Pearl Harbor and losing half his men as well)…  Yeah.. Yeah.  I know… once again I digress.   Anyway, dad used to call Spam “Shit On A Shingle” because he said that is pretty much all they ate and it tasted terrible. but when I was in school, I liked the taste.

Nnow we call the weird messages we get from weird people who have nothing to do with the topics we write about, “Spam.”  Does anyone know how that came about?  Could there not have been another word for it?  Let’s see..we could see it as a possible threat.  We could have just said P.T. or it could cause possible computer harm so there’s always the term, “Warning Llight.”  Hey, I like that.  We already have a trash folder here but Spam?  Is that really insulting enough for all these weird messages we really don’t want, can’t use, and/or are possibly harmful to our computers?

Do you ever wonder just what the production company of Spam thinks of this?

Also, speaking of Spam… I have been.  What types of Spam do you receive on your blog site?  Isn’t it weird to get Spam leading yu to other sites that have absolutely nothing to do with yours?  and why do I get comments starting “Dear Webmaster..”  Now, that is weird.  I guess sex type spam will show up everywhere so that is not to much of a surprise nor are the ones of how to get more followers.  Like I would follow a Spam suggestion.  I think not.

 

2 Comments

  1. My dad was on the Yorktown and he referenced “shit in a shingle ” to. Cream white sauce chip beef in toast. Which by the way I loved as a kid and still di to this day at 50. As for spam in a can …I had it in my earthquake kit years back. Then asked myself why? I hate spam. Tried to give UT to my cat and dig and even they snubbed it. I do have a Hawaiian friend who loves spam for reasons which have to do with many Hawaiians eating during war. And I believe there us a factory in Hawaii. I do believe. I think computer spam probably got that name as anything which goes into your spam box is of a mysterious nature … just like the ingredients in spam in can!

  2. I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and seriously loved this blog site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly have awesome articles and reviews. Thank you for sharing with us your web page.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

