Animals or Children?


This post may be offensive to some people; however; it should anyone I know be reading this, it is not personal in any way, shape or form.  That being said:

I am so tired of hearing about/from people giving up the animals they have had since the animals were puppies/kittens/babies, because they are moving or they have had children or for whatever reason.  It seems as if once the person has had a child or children, the animal takes a complete back seat to the child and gets shoved in the corner.  Unless the child is allergic and you have gone through the steps or have been advised it best not to, can you not teach your child respect for animals and keep the pet in the family?  Then, there is the moving aspect.  So, you are moving, so what?  Do you really want to move away without a family member?  Is it to much to fork over the required security deposit?  This is not the new puppy/kitten/bunny ,etc you’ve only had for a week and haven’t gotten used to.  This is the pet you have raised and named and loved for years.  You would rather find it another home or leave it at a pound before taking it with you?  Really???

Now, before you go on about the financial situations of people now.. I had a bad financial time myself and I had three cats.  My cats were in plenty of foster homes with friends and strangers, believe me.  But, I made sure my cats were cared for and I made sure to visit them.  I also had the stipulation that these were temporary facilities and in the end I got settled and got them all back.

My husband and I also had a terrible dilemma before we got married of getting rid of one of my cats or my husbands dog.  My husband and I lived together for about a month or so before we got married because we sold our condo’s and bought a house.  My cats had to adjust to his dogs moving in.  My Russian-Blue did not take well to this situation at all and decided he would attack one of the dogs.  After all, they were in his territory.  If we locked the dogs in the bedroom with  us at night, Kila (not his real name) would cry and cry so I would sleep on the couch with him.  We wound up giving him to a friend of my husbands’ with the stipulation that if for some reason he could not keep him, we would take him back and yes, we visited often.  Guess what?  After we got married and moved into  our house, the friend could no longer keep Kila and he came home.  So that story, does have a happy ending.

Anyway, if this is what happens to our animals after having children, I am very glad I did not have children.  I was not raised that way.  I was raised with animals being part of the family.  It was not a choice of either/or.

4 Comments

  1. Just wanted to share my story about children and pets so maybe you won’t hate on children too much 😉 My husband and I had two cats prior to the birth of our daughters and throughout my pregnancy, the reaction of the cats (one of whom had been with me since junior high school) was a very big concern for me because of the horror stories strangers are quick to share with you while you’re absolutely crazy during pregnancy anyway. So this was one more thing to obsess about. Anyway, the reaction of the two cats was just a very beautiful thing (I tear up thinking about it now), they immediately recognized these new beings as members of the family and were curious and welcoming (in their cat way). They would both curl up with the babies nearby, sweet and protective, and both of them were patient and tolerant of fur grabbing and tail pulling that accompanies the life of a cat in a household with two out of control toddlers. It was really remarkable how many times I expected one of the girls to get scratched or nipped because they had provoked one of the cats but it never happened.

    I think my story is pretty typical, and couples who get rid of pets when they have kids probably wanted to get rid of the pets before they had the kids, and the kids just provide a convenient excuse.

  2. ok so why did you use a fake name for your pet? I can see you u Gf but your pet? My god daughter is Sadie…no biggie. I seriously just didnt get it. As to this issue-I dont think you need to get rid of pets when you have kids except if you have a violent breed like a pit bull who can bite the child. I dont care how long youve had it-safety first.

  3. not God Daughter-DOG Daughter! HAAAAAAAAAAAA I am laughing!

  4. The reason I changed the name of my cat (God rest his soul..I believe animals have souls. My Opinion.) I believe God takes them back. Totally another discussion entirely…but I digress. I am always terrified a specific, ex will read this blog and figure out who I am so my cat became Kila. There is absolutely no linking Kila from any cat he ever remembered. He isn’t a Genius.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

