Remembering School Games


Last night I was thinking about childhood games in school.  A few of the games I could not stand wre Red Rover, Dodgeball, Tetherball, and Kickball. Okay, pretty much anything with Ball in the title.  I was one of the smallest, thinnest, weakest children in school.

Red Rover was ridiculous.  In case you’ve forgotten;  Children form two lines in teams, hold hands tightly and call someone over from the other team to run and break across the line of tightly held arms. If they break through  they bring someone back from that team to their team and the object is to get the most players on the team.  I never broke through the line.  I ran as fast as I could and the other children still said, “Oh she is easy  to hold back.”.

Dodgeball – Dangerous..can’t get away.  “Let’s aim for her.  She can’t run.  She’s OUT!”

Tetherball – Ther’s a great one for a small, weak, child.  Why don’t we sock a ball wildly on a pole and see if she can sock it back.  oops, it hit her in the head.  “Your okay?  That’s good.  Well, the ball wrapped itself around the pole so your’r OUT!”

Kickball and or Softball.. Let’s pick teams…”Darryl, You and Tommy, You be the Captains.  Let’s have everyone line up”  So  I’m waiting..and waiting..and waiting..and……  hmm, it’s getting hot.  Come on, let’s play already.  Only 4 of us left, whoops there goes Lori, Oh no, he picked Todd.  It’s only Cheryl and I left.  Here’s the discussion.  “I don’t want her, she can’t run.”  Well, I don’t want her, I don’t want to lose.”  “Okay, I guess we will take her.”  I do remember one time, I got really pissed off and kicked the ball so hard I ran three bases but most of the time, I just couldn’t do it.  I was OUT!

P.E. in school never was good for my self-esteem.

Wait, except one time…. There was this boy.  I had a crush on this boy and I just could not get across the Monkey Bars.  We called them that.

The bars that went all the way across from one end to another and you used your hands to get across.  Well, I practiced and practiced.  One day, we were all in line to do those bars.  He called me up to go in front of him.  All the children in class thought he was crazy saying I couldn’t do it.  I wanted to impress him so much…………….

I did it!  I made it all the way across those bars for the first time ever!

I think I will thank him for bringing up my self-esteem that day because I don’t think I ever told him this story.

What old school games do you remember and how do/did  they make you feel?

2 Comments

  1. Well.. I don’t remember a whole lot about childhood school games, they weren’t really on my radar. We moved a lot so I was more concerned about getting along and protecting my brother from being bullied.
    But there was part of one year we were in a good place and we lived in a small town where lots of the school kids lived and for several months we all played tag football in the lot beside the school after school hours and on weekends. No teachers, no rules or decisions we didn’t make ourselves, no one who didn’t want to play had to play, everyone who did want to play did get to play. I remember that short time with great fondness. We were good kids; I wonder what happened to all of us.

  2. I think my best childhood game memory is Hide and Seek on the cul-de-sac with the neighbor kids-You had the whole cul-de-sac to hide in and we played until the street light came on. Yeah that was back in the day when kids could still do that!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

