Back To School Story-#3


Mr. Rensk-6th Grade (No Celaniey-Girl, not even close to his name…switch the letters around and figure it out.  No true names on WP.)  Before I get into this one, you need to remember that this was in the 70’s.  Teachers were allowed to touch the students without fear of sexual harrassment all the time.  Teachers were actually trusted.  Teacher molestation was unheard of at those times.

Mr. Rensk was awesome.  He read stories to us and let us sit on his lap while he did so.  He picked different children in the class, not just one so he didn’t play favorites but he had a favorite thing to do with me.  I was the smallest child in the room, heck I was probably the smallest and thinnest child in the school due the metabolic disorder I was born with and being sick a lot.  Anyway, just for fun, Mr. Rensk would see me at at lunch and with the other students egging him on..he would literally pick me up and put me in the nearesst trash can feet first.  Usually, it was an empty trash can or maybe a few papers at the bottom..like before everyone threw the trash away..and he would only leave me there for a minute or so so everybody could laugh and have a good time.  I was way to short to get out by myself and it was always in good fun.  I will always remember Mr. Rensk with fondness.

I am trying to go by grade but memories are coming back prior so I am going backward a bit with one class I remember.  While I don’t remember the teachers name;  I do remember when I did a bad thing in class.  Now usually, I was a good girl and did the work the best I could but alway’s flunked the tests.  You said the word, “Test” and I would completely blank out and it never mattered how long I studied or what I had known..unless it was spelling because I’ve loved words.  Anyway, in this class..whatever year it was; the whole class planted flowers to learn about how they grew.  Everyone must have been at lunch or left or something because it was me and a boy there and the boy said he had a “magic potion” that would make the plants grow faster if we sprinkled it on them.  All the plants were lined up in the window with the buds or sprouts or whatever starting to show.  Well, What would you do?  Wouldn’t your classmates be excited if their plants grew quicker and they had you to thank for it?  You guessed it..I fell for it.  He gave me some white powder and both of us put it all over the plants.  Imagine my surprise coming into class the next day I think, to find a very, Angry, teacher  telling the class to thank me and whomever the boy was for killing all the plants by putting SALT on them.  Then, when she asked me why and I told her what he said, she asked me if I was stupid.  I remember that.  That’s the day I learned that salt will kill plants.

Just so you know, salt will kill snails too.  My mother taught me that one.

1 Comment

  1. Holy COW…you make me laugh! Yes salt kills snails BIGTIME


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

