Tribute To My Sister


I wish I could give an award to a commenter because my sister actually commented and it totally surprised me.  I always knew she read this blog but it means a lot to me that she commented.  (Just don’t tell/remind my other sister that I even have this blog, please.  Yeah, I technically/physically have another sister but we have lost contact..her choice, long story..probably not a long story but one I don’t wish to get into now.)     Anyway, this post is about this sister whom I guess I can call ‘Lady’ since it’s better than Sis and part of her sign-on.  She knows why I won’t use the first part.

Lady and I are 8 years apart in age.  She is 8 years older than I.  We have always been close but have had our times.  She is the one that I actually grew up in the house with as there is a major age gap in the rest of my siblings ages and I.  (My brother is 20 years older than I and the other sister I speak of is 15-18 years older than I),  anyway, Lady and I have been through a lot of interesting things together.  My parents would take a lot of trips  for the wknds and leave Lady and I alone.  During one of these trips, I started my period.  (Now if you’re a man..you may or may not want to continue reading but I promise this isn’t gross.)  I was in the truck with Lady and her boyfriend and I whispered in Lady’s ear that we had to stop at the store and don’t tell J. why.  J. was being funny and refused to stop until Lady told him why so she had to.  Anyway, when we  got to the store, I freaked out and did not want tog o in because I did not want to go to a male register clerk.  Guess what?  The store only had male register clerks.  I was terrified they would say something.  Lady told me they couldn’t, it was illegal.  I remember grabbing something off the shelf and staring straight at the guy daring him to say something.  I would have run out of the store.  It’s funny but do you ever notice that women or men when buying things for their women never buy just that item but usually have to buy Coke or Chips or some other item they didn’t even come for too?  It’s a fact of life but it’s the embarrassment factor that still kicks in.  Yet, most of us have no problem buying toilet paper.

Lady was there the first time I got drunk after I broke up with my first boyfriend,   She used to kick me out of her room when I wasn’t even in it; I was standing in the doorway being the annoying, little sister, she and I would wake each other up on Christmas morning then wake up my parents so we could open presents and one year we got matching stuffed dogs.  I still have mine and if she ever comes across hers; I still want it.  Plus, one year she gave me a box of rocks for Christmas and I started freaking out and crying until she gave me my “real” present.  Lady and I would also sing songs while she played guitar as we both have that talent; and the best times ever is singing the song ‘where Have All The Flowers Gone” by Peter, Paul and Mary. together.

Now, that mom has passed away; Lady is my rock and the sister I’ve always wanted and needed.  I can share things with her I didn’t think I could before and she is understanding.  Our relationship is stronger now.

Unfortunately, a lot of our sisterly breaks were caused by my mother. (not the one above referring to my other sister, though.)

I love you Lady, and I am glad we are sisters and alway’s will be!  Thank you for reading and commenting on my blogs and thank you for being you.

2 Comments

  1. I love you lots too! Thanks for the tribute. It does not go unnoticed.

  2. I have my BEST SISTER too-Deborah. Seems theres always one sibling youre closer to.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

