My View On Hunting


Yesterday, I walked outside to clean up after my dog and I saw a bird laying on it’s side..dead.  I felt so bad.  If you hadn’t looked closely you would  think he was sleeping.  Poor thing.  I obviously didn’t want to touch him due to possible ‘bird flu” but I felt even worse when I showed my husband and he told me to “Pick it up and throw it in the trash”.  This is one of God’s creatures.  That just didn’t feel right to me.  So I dug a hole with a shovel (probably not as deep as I should have) and buried the bird.  I’ve been praying for that little bird ever since.

As you can tell by the above story, I am a total animal person.  I once hit a Possum that ran in front of my car and the first thing I did was call Animal Control to make sure it didn’t have babies in its pouch.  My husband and I had our honeymoon in San Diego so we could hit the zoo and the wild animal park plus, we had dog and cat figures on the tiers of the cake since we only had one bridesmaid and one groomsman.

Anyway, I have a niece who married a man who likes to hunt.  He actually hunts Antelope, Elk, Deer, etc and brings it home to eat.  They live in Arizona so it is not like they live in an area where they have to hunt in order to eat.  Her husband just won an award or something for killing the largest Elk in a certain area (I think).  I try really hard to keep my mouth shut on the whole issue but it gets harder and harder as time goes on.  I can just imagine their house with Trophy Heads all over the walls.  I am trying to get closer with this niece and her family but this issue is really tough for me.  My young, Great-Nephews are even getting into hunting now and my niece now has her own bow for target practice.  She says there is no way she could kill an animal but I know she may as well end that sentence with the word….Yet.

Anyway, to clarify: I don’t believe in hunting unless it is absolutely necessary.  We are not Indians and this is not the caveman era.  We have tons of stores now.  Unless you work in the actual field which most of us don’t, there is no reason to hunt an animal for food anymore.  As for keeping down the population; who are we to decide that?  Doesn’t God make that decision or survival of the fittest?  I think its horrible to put those innocent animals in that position.  It’s bad enough we’ve built houses in their territories plus, half the time they are just being animals and get killed for that.

In other news…My first visit with the Anal/Colorectal Surgeon is scheduled for Monday.  Yes, it is a man.  I had no choice in that.  Please pray he is professional and he can help me and heal me of this pain.

3 Comments

  1. The natural balance of hunter/prey is not as it should be and never will be as long as humanity continues along it’s current path. We aggressively control the natural hunters so we don’t lose our “valuable” animals, that leaves the prey to multiply beyond what the land can sustain. If the prey animals aren’t purged either by nature (which they aren’t) or by man then they will starve to death painfully. Hunting attempts to reset the natural balance of hunter/prey by allowing a certain number of prey animals to be culled.
    I’m of the opinion that if you are going to shoot an animal then you eat it. No shooting just for the killing.
    I am also of the opinion that hunting is a useful skill that hasn’t been outgrown by humanity quite yet. I don’t hunt myself but I do target shoot and would hunt if I felt confident of my skills to make the kill quickly and surely. A deer or two in the freezer can lower grocery costs for the winter significantly.

  2. While I am not a hunter and could NEVER do it. I do understand the reason that many people do. Many areas use hunting to control the population of animals. Rocker Ted Nugent runs a schools to teach children the importance of hunting and the reason why the use of the entire animal is important. While the sport is not for me I do understand the reasoning behind. I can’t even pick my own LIVE lobster to eat!

  3. I HATE HATE HATE Hunting!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

