Back To School #7


Explanation/Continuation of #6-  I just realized my last post made it sound like I go around slapping slow people.  That is not the case at all!  You would have to know A.F.  He and I were actually friends although it was a very odd friendship.

Today’s Post: 

There was an elective  class (a class other than the classes required that you could sign up for if you wanted) titled ‘Bible As Literature’ .  Now, I really wanted to take this class.  My sister recommended it and she had the same teacher quite a few years prior to me (she is 8 years older than I) plus, I alway’s read the Bible but not from the literary stand-point and was very curious.

This class was only offered as a Junior. or a Senior so as soon as I got to registration line, I beelined for that class to register.  Now, my last name started with H.  How the heck was the class filled by the time I got to the table every time?  That seemed impossible.  When this happened again as a Senior, I immediately went to the counselor’s office who told me to keep and eye on the Class Board and as soon as someone transferred out, I would get the next seat.  I checked that board before school, every break, lunch, and after.  Imagine my surprise when……

I’m sitting in Mythology bored as ever and one of the Foreign-Exchange-Students gets a note from the office before standing up and announcing, “Yah, I’m out of here!”  I said, “Great, Where are you going?” and he said…..Wait for it……”Bible As Lit.”

As soon as break/lunch came I went to the counselor’s office and demanded to know why he got in the class and I didn’t.  The counselor was walking around the yard so I followed her with my question.  “Why did ‘Juan” (probably not his name) get in the class and I didn’t?” ..she said, “You needed to watch the board.”  I said, still following her.  “I watched that board every morning, break and after school.  Why did Juan get in the class when you said I was next?” ..we kept walking.  She’s walking toward the Smoking Area.  I don’t go in there.  I don’t smoke, I hate that area but I am following her.  She said, “Well..he is a Foregn-Exchange-Student.”  We are in the Smoking Area.  I said, (Yes, I did say this…Remember, this was the 80’s.)  “I don’t care if he is from Saudi Arabia.  Why did Juan get in the class and I didn’t?”  Now, she is really flustered.  She said (remember this is High-School and we are Seniors.)..By the way she is really fustered and practcally stuttering; probably wishing to heck she hadn’t dealt with me  “Uh.Uh…His mother wrote a note.” ..I smiled and said, “Thank you very much.” and I left.

I went home.  I told my mother to “Call The School!  His mother wrote a note.  If you call the school, I have to get in the class.”  She agreed but said if I get in the class, I better get an A.  I said “Mom, its English.  Of course, I’ll get an A.”  The next day I was to report to the counselors office.

The counselor said she would meet with the teacher but if there were no spots, she did not want to hear anymore about it and I agreed.  Everything was perfectly cordial.  Imagine my surprise when she came back and said there were two spots left.

So, I got in the class and I came out with an A+ and the other thing.  I got some attention from the popular guys at the time because they didn’t know how to look up verses in the Bible and I did.. so they asked me to help them.  It was a great class!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

