What R U Gonna Be?


So, Halloween is approaching and if you’ve been reading my blog for a while you would know that is my least favorite holiday.  You would also know I stopped attending the last church I went to because of a discussion about Halloween I had with the Pastor because they all believe Satan is going to jump out of the Halloween decorations and it is just asking him to come into your life by decorating your yard evil.  Good Gravy.  I’m a Believer in God and I think believing the way they do is total overkill.  I believe even God understands it’s all in good fun.  It’s how you live your life that matters, not having fun for a day.  It’s not like I am selling or doing drugs or illegal activities on that one day of the year and I am not even pretending to worship Satan by dressing up to be a Zombie, Ghoul, etc.

That is the one aspect I do enjoy at Halloween.  The dressing up and being in costume part.  I actually play the part of whatever character I’m dressed as when I go out karaokying.  When I was in elementary school, I dressed as a Milk Carton once and when we went door to door, I sang the “Time For Milk Commercial” song (first sentence anyway”) and my friend who was dressed as a Sorceress (I think) tapped the box with her wand.  We got a lot of candy tha year, if I remember correctly.

My best adult costumes have been The Grim Reaper, a ghoul eating an arm, Carrie, a Valley Girl and Octomom.  I made the Octomom costume myself and I actually carried all 14 children.  “Well, I couldn’t find a Baby Sitter!”  I learned something about my husband on that one.  I learned he absolutely HATES Nadia and he made me promise Never to do that costume again.  He is going to Knott’s this week and I told him to call me so I can watch him live on the internet when he goes into the maze, ‘End Games.’. ..but I digress:

Pregnant Nun

As you can see, I’ve also been a Pregnant Nun.  I don’t know why my baby turned out blue.

I don’t believe in dressing sexy for Halloween though and I think there are way to many ‘sexy” costumes out there.  You are just asking for trouble when you do that.  Just my  opinion.

So, do you dress up?  What was/is your best costume?  Ever won a prize?  I did once.  I won a mug set at a Costume Contest at a bar.  I’ve really been hoping for some money, though.

I would love to hear what you’ve been over the years and what you are planning to be this year.

I will do my usual and dress up as a Ghoul and sit out on the porch scaring the children while passing the candy.  If I do go out karaokying (doubtful), I am going as Ugly Betty this year.  That was an easy one for “just in case.”

2 Comments

  1. pregnant nun…you slay me! Every year Dave and I dress up for handing out candy. He wears this huge rubber bast shaled like a crescent moon white skeletor face. He has skeleton gloves on. I am the monsters witchy wife. I had a long black morticia dress and a long black wig. One year I had a zit on my nose and turned into a spider. This year I have a new outfit and wig and long fake silver and burgandy lashes. Im being a more vamire scamp wife. FUNNNN. I lost 70 lbs and want to have fun with the new figure!

  2. IYes, I’ve seen your costumes and you look great. I actually dress up as Ghoul and sit on the porch every year scaring the children away while passing out candy. It’s when I go out that I do something different. I’ll get the hubby to take a Ghoul pic and post it this year.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

