Dating Memories #2-First Crush


I was 13 and he was 12.  He had blond hair and gorgeous, green eyes.  We held hands and walked around the school track.  We danced the last dance at every school dance.  “Stairway To Heaven”,  I remember it being a long song and not wanting it to end as I lay my head on his shoulder.  We kissed behind the bushes.  My first kiss.  On, those were the innocent times,  I even bought a stuffed fox with bright green eyes and named the fox after him.

Then:

It was on New Year’s Eve, I was babysitting my Niece at the time, we were talking on the phone but his friend took the phone and said, “Chet wants to break up with you.”  I told him to have Chet tell me himself.  Chet did.  I was angry.  I was hurt.  I told Chet I never wanted to see him again.

Chet moved away.

I cried the whole Summer.  He had been my first crush.  But the worst part?  I did not mean the part about never wanting to see him again.  That was mean.  He was not supposed to move after I’d said that.  I felt so, so guilty.  I wanted to apologise a thousand times over for saying that.  I prayed and prayed that he would forgive me.

Chet and I are FB Friends now and he and I have forgiven each other; but that was the first of my heart being broken… and the stories will continue.

1 Comment

  1. Sad story-great ending. We all grow up.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

