Dating Memories #3 – A Friend, Not A Date


A Friend – Not A Date

Our high school held a dance.  I don’t remember if it was Roaring 20’s but it was a fun, dress-up type dance and anyone asked anyone to go. It was not a formal dance.  I asked a “friend”..Renton, not a boyfriend, to the dance.  Renton agreed to going as “friends only” which was great because I was totally looking forward to dancing with Henry if he was there.  Most of the dancing would be “group dancing” anyway but Henry was totally popular and friendly and it was the only time I would ever get to dance with him.  It was agreed that Renton would drive since he supposedly had just gotten his license.  Well, he picked me up along with his mother because he technically did not have his license but only had a permit.  I can’t imagine what his mother thought since he didn’t explain to her what type of dance it was nor why I was dressed the way I was.  Of course, he didn’t dress up.

Then, we went to dinner.  His mother dropped us off at Del Taco which wasn’t far from the school and Renton told me we were going to have to walk to the school from the restaurant.  Nobody else was in Del Taco but I was totally embarrassed and the workers in Del Taco could not believe that’s where we went for dinner before the dance.  Needless to say, I did not eat much and Renton could not help but comment about me being a cheap date as I nibbled on my small french fries.  Walking to the school was not fun in the shoes and outfit I was wearing either by the way.

So, we get to the dance and I figure the night can only get better but it gets worse as Renton gets mad upon discovering I want to dance with Henry.  Hello?  This is not supposed to be a date. Remember?  We are here as “just friends.”  Needless to say, Renton refuses to dance with me the rest of the evening by faking a hurt ankle or something and Henry and I never do get to dance alone.

As the night starts to close, Renton informs me that his mother will not be able to pick us up and we have no way home.  I’m like “What?”  He said, “He could not ask her to pick us up.  It was not part of the agreement…or something.”  Uh…yeah it was.  It’s called, “transportation.”  I was furious.  I wasn’t about to call my parents at 12:30 or whatever time and wake them up because my friend is not living up to his end of the bargain!  As, I sit there fuming and Renton lives in La-La-Land or whatever…a friend comes over and announces that they are going to the beach after the dance and invites us both to go with them.  Renton immediately says, “Yes.”  I responded with, “No., We have no way to get home, remember?”  I explain the situation to D. who invited us and she and her date offer to take us both home before going to the beach.  Problem solved.

The drive home is silent.  I had worked it out with D. to drop Renton off at his place before me.  As Renton gets out of the car and is walking to the door, D. teases me and say, “Don’t you want to help him find the way?” and I said, “He’ll find it.”

Needless to say, that was the worst Non-Date/Date I’d ever gone on.

1 Comment

  1. Yikes…I cant top that. Oh except the guy my office co-workers set me up with for lunch…that turned out to be one of our workers comp clients who sustained a brain injury on the job. OH HE WAS A WINNER…nottttt.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

