Unfair Bells and the End Of The World


I just read in the news that the bells are going to ring 26 times for the victims of the Connecticut shooting.  Not 27.  They are not counting Nancy Lanza, the mother of the shooter as a victim as part of the bell ringing.  People have mixed feelings about her because she had the guns in the house which were used to shoot the children and she taught Adam how to use them.    Okay, wait,  This isn’t fair, in my opinion.  She did not tell Adam to shoot anyone and she sure as heck did not ask  or tell Adam to shoot her in the face while she was sleeping.  Nancy Lanza was just as much a victim in this case as anyone else.

I understand some parents have hard feelings and don’t want her funeral service or name near that of their children who perished; but not even to have a bell ring in her memory?  Is that even the Christian thing to do!  Someone made a comment to that article that churches are being hypocritical in participating with only 26 rings of the bell and I agree.  Are churches not to support and encompass all without prejudice?  Just as God’s love encompasses all.  I won’t get into preaching or my beliefs or even my feelings on Adam Lanza.  However:  This is my opinion when it comes to the victims.  In my head and in my prayers, there will  be a special bell ringing for Nancy Lanza at 9:30 a.m. today.

Also, Let’s get into the topic of the end of the world, shall we?  Seriously, do you really think today is the end?  Good grief, how many times have we been through this?  That dorky pastor guy kept telling us it was the end and people stockpiled food and gave all their money away and we are still here.  Now you are worried because some group made a calendar and ran out of room or something?  As a Christian, I believe the Lord is not telling us when he is coming back and that is the end of the world.  It isn’t when some calendar runs out or some Yahoo makes up a date.  Plus, if the end of the world were today, why are people still Christmas shopping and cleaning their houses and living life normally?  Wouldn’t people be having orgies, or cheating on each other, or in church praying, or doing drugs, or going skydiving or, I don’t know doing whatever it is you’ve alway’s dreamed of doing on your last day on earth?  Seriously?      

1 Comment

  1. my heart goes out to all the victims adult and child. I will not use the spineless loser whack jobs name that murdered them. My heart goes out to the firefighter and families who lost their lives and homes on Christmas Eve do to yet another nameless spineless loser whack job. I believe we are seeing the end times GF…Jesus is coming soon. And end of the world-BAH. I think people went on as normal because PLEASE no one really believed it. It was a joke around here. I think my fave thing said on it was a comment in FB-did you see it?-it was a cartoon of a specticled professor in a lab coat w/clipboard and a suited up newscaster person with a microphone-the professor was leaned in close to the myan calander and saying “oohhh I see it was read wrong it really says it was the end of twinkies” ROTFLMBO now THATS funny I dont care who you are!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

