To Regift or Not To Regift=The Question


I read an article not to long ago (not sure if it was true) where someone gave a gift to someone else and said, “I hope you like it.” and the recipient said, “Oh, I do, I gave it to you two years ago.”  Oops.

Which brings me to today’s topic of Re-gifting:  What do you think about it?  Have you got it mastered or do you think it tacky?

My mother taught me the art of re-gifting.  Actually, she had a closet of extra gifts that she had received and if I ever needed an emergency gift for a work gift exchange or whatever, I would go to her house and find something from that closet.  Now, I keep  a list of everything I give and get for/from everybody throughout the year.  I do this so I don’t get them the same thing the next year for their B-Day and Christmas and I also have the list for Thank-You notes.

As for re-gifting, I keep a post-it or sticky note with the name of who gave the  item attached, until I decide who it is going to next, and I make sure whoever it goes to is not in the same circle as the one it was received from.  Last year my neighbor gave me a candle in the shape of a Christmas present.  While nice, it just isn’t me, but my husbands’ Aunt loves candles, so I re-gifted it and gave it to her this year for Christmas.  Should my husbands’ Aunt ever visit, it is not like she is going to bring the candle here or mention it loudly in front of my neighbor, so I am safe.  Most other re-gifting usually goes to strangers in need; but some can work between friends and family or even friends and friends as long as they don’t come in contact with each other..

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

