Test Didn’t Happen


So, my Cardiologist want s me to take Treadmill Stress Test or Myoview..part of which is a Lexiscan. It’s a two-day test.  One day of which I am on the treadmill for a bit and I have an I.V. in my arm and they inject some stuff in me at the last minute of walking and the other part of the test is resting along with radiology pics.  I was told to take all my a.m. pills, but the first day I messed up and only took my anti-rejection so they did the resting portion first and told me to return on Friday to do the treadmill part.  They also said NO Caffeine whatsoever (my headache medicine has caffeine in it) or coffee, etc. 12 hours before the test.  So, here’s the thing.  I woke up on Friday, the day of the test with a splitting headache (Migraine) and could only take a Tylenol.  I took all my a.m. pills on an empty stomach.  I was dry heaving before I even left the house but I said a prayer and figured I would get through.  I was wrong.  The cardiologist girl said, “You can have caffeine before this test.”  By then, it was too late.  Turns out, the radiologist had given me the wrong information.  I had the I.V. in and I was ready but I took one look at the treadmill with my throbbing head and knew it was not going to happen.  Plus, my stomach was starting to churn along with my head.  So, they re-scheduled the test to Monday and unhooked me.

Originally, I thought I could drive home but then re-thought quickly and had them call my husband from work to come pick me up. (We got my car today).  By the time he showed up, I was vomiting.  After I got home and tried to eat and vomited again, I finally took a pill and slept…woke up..ate some more and slept some more until 5 p.m.  During the time I was awake, I called the dr. and made sure a cup of coffee would be okay Monday morning.  I also called Security at the hospital to let them know my car was there.

The hospital system is so messed up.  They really need to give patients (especially patients who have migraines) like me the right information when it comes to caffeine.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

