Christians and Going To Church


As most of you know by now, I am a Christian, yet, I do not go to church.  To clarify, I do not go to an actual building on Sunday (Mosque, Church, Temple, Chapel or otherwise) to sit in a pew or chair next to people who may cough, sneeze, talk to or in any other way distract me during a service.  I also don’t have to listen to the singing and/or many other things that are involved in the service that do not come directly from the Bible if I do not desire.  I do church on television or via the internet.  Which means, I can fast forward the singing and get to the Sermon from the Pastor which is the main thing I want to hear.  I tune in for God’s word.  I can hear a different Pastor each week..at least from about 10 or so and some are not even around here.  Christmas does not have to be the actual Christmas story.  I can choose a title with a topic that may really help me during the week.

Let me give you some back-up as to how I got here.  I’ve posted a bit of this before so I’ll try to condense this.

I was raised in the Catholic Church and made to go to church every, single Sunday.  I never did believe in Purgatory, (the word is not mentioned in the Bible..and Yes, I have read the entire Bible..it took me 3 years!) and I always believed the Priest changing the water and wine into God’s body and blood was a reminder of the Last Supper…not that he was actually doing it every week, I also could never understand why we used the collection money for things like air conditioning and new seats for the church when we could be sending it to people who really needed it.  (I do think the Catholics picked a really good Pope in that way now, but I digress)   I was raised in the Youth Group and followed all the rules.  I was Miss Goody Two Shoes and totally believed in holding out sex before marriage.  I had a massive crush on the popular guy (as did most girls) and was shocked when his girlfriend became pregnant by him.  I thought for sure everybody would shun her or at least treat her differently and treat me better..but instead, they threw her a baby shower and the two got married and had a baby.  That may be when my sex before marriage view changed, I’m not sure.

After a few years of seeking a different church, I joined the Baptist Church.  This worked quite well for a while until the Pastor started up with the every Sunday thing in order to be a good church member.  I had been on the Women’s Group but that had ended and when I offered to re-start it, they said no because you had to attend every service.  They had two services on Sundays.  I do not wish to be forced to go anywhere.  That is ridiculous.  Then, he started begging and guilting people into giving money and going on and on about how you should want to give to God from your heart.  I’ve never believed in Tithing.  I’m sorry.  God isn’t getting my money.  The church is.  A group of people who decide what they want to use my money for that I have given them.  In essence, I am paying so they can preach God’s word to me as they interpret it.  I have Bible for that!  The last reason the 2nd church didn’t work out is because I started to check out a few other churches and confided in a few people a head of time, (not the Pastor) and a “friend” actually went and told the Pastor, so I was told I could no longer help in the church office (folding flyers) if I was considering leaving the church.  What?  I hadn’t said anything to the Pastor because my decision hadn’t been made but at that moment, I guess it was made for me so I was gone.

The last church I attended was also Baptist.  Thee people have views that are at the point of being ridiculous.  The Pastor and I almost got into it at Halloween because he believes putting up Halloween decorations of witches, ghosts, etc. is asking evil spirits to invade your world and you should always live as a Christian and be ready for Christ.  He got annoyed that I didn’t bow down and say, “Oh, your right, I’m so sorry.”  Uh..Nope.  Not my belief.  Then, everybody sort of started treating me differently after that and the air was just weird.  Plus, they would talk behind the back of other members and say, “I heard so and so said this and I think so and so may have been a druggie anyway.”  Who knows what they are saying now that I’m gone.

 

Anyway, when I explain that I do church on the internet or television, I get tired of hearing the response, “You should really find a church family.”  Why?  I just told you my reasons for not going?  Everybody is different.  God is working in me in his own way and we have our own relationship.  I don’t need your drama of seeing you on Sunday and then not talking to you during the week.  I had a friend that swore all the time and treated her family like crap, but she was the “Perfect Christian” because she went to church every Sunday.  Guess what?  I found out, she is divorced now.  She as a devout Catholic.

Before you quote the commandment:  I am well aware:  It is:  Keep Holy The Sabbath Day. 

A Christian means “Follower of Christ” and as a Follower of Christ; I do not need to go to church.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. I totally understand a distaste for church, although I love church. I personally don’t like crowds all that much, and were it not a professional liability, I would probably find smaller circles in which to worship. However, I’ve found that faith is sort of a team sport, and there are certain skills I can only learn on a team. It’s like baseball. I may buy a uniform and equipment. I can say I love playing it, but if I’m never on a team, I’m never actually going to learn to throw and catch well. I’ll never learn to teach other people the faith. And I’ll never learn the experience of Jesus, which involved life in the community of faith. So despite the fact that it’s not in my nature to seek out communal settings, I’ve found that being on the team was good for me.

    But all God’s blessings on those who disagree.

    • Interesting comparison. I guess I’ve joined a lot of teams then and that type just isn’t working. I am actually part of the Prayer Team for Operation Christmas Child, a division of Samaritan’s Purse. That is a worship circle, in a way. I’m sure there are internet worship circles I could find also, if I so desire. I like and appreciate your input.

  2. Church isn’t a building it is the people in the building. Churches are flawed because people are flawed. I encourage you to go to church because we need community. Sometimes it is because we need to be encouraged or challenged and sometimes it is because the Lord wants to use us to do that for someone else. You can have a relationship with Jesus outside of church, but I think you will be missing out on some blessings that only come when you are in community with other believers. Jesus lived in community and talked a lot about being in community. The Lord’s Prayer starts out “Our Father” not “My Father” because I believe we are meant to be part of a Christian community. It isn’t always easy and definitely isn’t always pretty because it is made up of imperfect and flawed people but it can be a beautiful thing as well. Blessings!

    • Yes, it does say “Our Father.” because there is more than one follower of him. Jesus had more then one Follower but they followed him..literally..outside and not just on Sunday. I’m sure that’s the same reason most everyone tells me I “need” or “should really find” a church family. I believe all have good intentions, but I also believe the Lord knows where I am in life and is okay with where I am now. There is another song that says, “And they’ll know we are Christians by our love.” It doesn’t say by going to church.” Thanks for your comment.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

